Grilled Dogfish

Right. So I’ve been gone for about 2 and 1/2 months at this point. I have no excuses other than I was sort of busy/never really felt like posting anything. Sue me.

Regardless, I’m here now with an end to the story that began in the last couple of posts. The short that I created for the 2011 Dogfish Head OCFF has been fully backed, shot, edited, re-edited, re-re-edited, boiled down to 5 minutes worth of footage, submitted, considered, passed on as a winner but chosen to play at the festival, screened, pirated (yes, that’s right, pirated), and is now available for your viewing pleasure right here or on the Tube of You.

The above is Grilled Dogfish in all it’s delicious Dogfish Head glory.

And this the above is the pirated version when it showed at the festival.

My good friend Dave Conte (who helped me IMMENSELY with the production of the short) opted to take a fun, albeit brief vacation down to Austin, TX for the festival and to visit his wonderfully fantastical friends. Now, being that I was unable to, and super unhappy with the fact that I couldn’t go and experience the audiences reaction, he borrowed his buddy’s camera and filmed the screening for me so that I could at least know 2nd hand how it was received. Which actually appears to have been quite well – though I stuck it on here in an effort to allow you to decide that for yourself. Because it’s quite possible that I might be slightly delusional. Only slightly.

In any case, feel free to comment. Be honest and brutal because in all reality that’s the only way I’ll ever get better at what I do. You’re also allowed to be kind if you’d like. I’m totally open to that as well.

Leave a Reply

