Gone, But Haven’t Forgotten

Okay, so, I haven’t posted in a few weeks. I know that I said I was going to post as often as possible and keep this thing going and all that great fun stuff. And I am. Which is why I’m here right now doing this. Where have you been the two people who read this ask? Well, I respond to the two people, I’ve been mostly sitting in my chair in my living room. BUT, I’ve been doing a hell of a lot of work… in my underwear yes, but work none the less.

Aside from perusing the internet pretty much every single day in an attempt to find a job, and filling out applications for those I believe I am qualified for (because I’m still unemployed… and if I haven’t mentioned that previously, guess what – I’m unemployed), I’ve been hauling all sorts of creative ass all over the place. Jump back to my last post: I mentioned that I was working on a short film for the Dogfish Head OCFF, but that I needed to figure out a way to make money because I didn’t have any (guess my unemployment has already been noted). And I did. Enter Kickstarter, quite possibly the greatest website ever invented.

To give you a quick overview of how the site works, you choose a project that you want funding for, you fill out a questionnaire regarding said project that the Kickstarter team looks over, and if they like it, you’re allowed to pitch it on the site. From there, you choose how much money you want to ask for, how many days you give for the project to be fully funded, and explain what your project is all about. Then you launch and hope for the best. It’s a great system, and one that I fully endorse and recommend to everyone who is looking for funding for their creative ideas. Oh, I should also point out that you have to get fully backed to be able to collect the money. So if you have a project that you put up that you think will cost $10,000 and give it 90 days to get to that point but only get $9,500 worth of pledges by day 90, the project isn’t successfully backed, no one who pledged is charged, and you’re back to square one. If you succeed, you pay a nominal percentage fee to both Kickstarter and Amazon (who runs the site that allows for the money transaction at the end) of 10% total, which you can allow for in the amount of money you ask for from the get go. The beauty of it is that if your project falls short, you can try it again! And the second time around you can change up your pitch so that people will be more engaged and thus more likely to pledge! Ask for a little less money, give it less days to collect, make a new video, just create a brand new pitch. These guys want to see people succeed, it’s all about the creative community man, and again, I cannot praise it enough. Do yourself a favor and check it out!

Anyway, I started a project over there and after about a week it was ready to launch. I opted for the least amount of monies that I felt it would take to properly produce the short, which I have entitled Grilled Dogfish. Those monies were a sum total of $500. I launched it allowing for 30 days to be fully backed, and 26 hours later, because of the kindness of a slew of friends and a complete stranger, it happened! Since then, I’ve had several more backers, and as of this moment, with 17 days left to go, Grilled Dogfish has $660 pledged to it!!! If you want to have a look-see, here’s my Kickstarter page.

Now, because I know I have this funding coming to me, and also because of the OCFF deadline, I opted to push forward with Grilled Dogfish pre-production and the production itself, making all of my necessary props, costumes, sound equipment and miscellaneous purchases on a credit card that I will pay back as soon as the deadline hits. I had my buddy Dave assist me with creating a ‘Buttwasser’ logo and label, as well as create the teaser poster above, and slated my shoot dates for last weekend. Which happened. And it went awesomely!!! I had a crew of 6 – Steph was our makeup artist and sound wrangler, Cory and Dave were both DP’s, Kelly was my scripty and Matt and myself were the main characters. And everyone kicked ass! They put a lot of time, effort, hard work  and money (they were backers!) into it and I believe we’ve got something that we can all really be proud of. We discovered we had a bit of a sound issue when we looked at some footage on Sat before we shot, but luckily we were covered by the on board mics and I think it’s going to work out perfectly. Other than that, the shoot went smoothly. And Dave got me the footage last night, so I’ll be hunkering down to start editing soon and will hopefully have a rough cut ready by next week.

On top of all this, I registered to take a professional script rewriting course online, which started last week. It’s like being in school again and I’m absolutely loving it! We get structural classes and assignments via email, and have a forum where we post our work to get feedback from other classmates. I have to admit, with all of the Grilled Dogfish stuff I was doing last week and over the weekend, I really haven’t had the opportunity to apply myself as fully as I would like to in the class, but that’s going to change immediately. Being that I paid monies that I don’t have to take this class, and that I’m taking it in an effort to make my script as amazing as possible in order to make a sale, I’m going to squeeze every last drop of phenomenallity out of it. And then some. By the way, the class is through ScreenwritingU.com. I randomly came across this site one day and fell in love with it. The fine gent who runs it, Hal Croasmun, really wants people to succeed, which was something that became very apparent when we had our class intro teleconference. I mean, it’s not like you take the classes and you magically have a salable script – you as a writer need to put a lot of effort into what you’re doing. And Hal makes sure you understand this; that it’s up to you as to how good your script can be. But that effort put in never seems like work when you’re doing what you love. And again, Mr. Croasmun absolutely wants everyone to succeed, whether your a brand new writer, someone who’s been writing for a long time, or someone who hasn’t even heard of his classes. That’s right, you reading this right now, if you write and don’t know what the hell I’m referring to, Hal wants you to succeed. It probably sounds like I’m trying to sell this site to you, what with my enthusiasm and everything, but believe me when I tell you it doesn’t need it. The thing speaks for itself. The man knows what he’s doing and how to do it, and he’s very friendly and approachable, which makes taking the course that much more involving. Check out ScreenwritingU.com and see for yourself.

So that’s what I’ve been doing. Oh, and I’ve had a couple of interviews, and worked a full day last week. All of this amounts to why I was gone for so long. But again, I haven’t forgotten. I’ve just had, and will continue to have, a nice full plate. Guess it’s a damn good thing that I’m so fucking hungry.

Leave a Reply

